Who are we?


We are governed by a volunteer board of directors comprised of individuals representing the forest industry, the K-12 education system, post secondary education, conservation and related forestry associations. Board members volunteer their time for all aspects of tour promotion, development and operations.  We do not have a general membership.  Our goal is to provide teachers with the opportunity to participate in balanced and interactive forest education tours.




  • Provide professional development tours at no cost to teachers or their schools.

  • Provide teachers with information and materials that can be taken back into the classroom and used as teaching tools, extending the information to their students and colleagues.  

  • Encourage as many individuals from differing perspectives and backgrounds as possible to volunteer their time and share their knowledge with the teachers and other presenters.

  • Promote sound forest resource stewardship in all activities.

  • Facilitate public access to forested areas with a goal of observing the complexities of forest resources management.

  • Present scientific principals and theory as it relates to the forest ecosystem (both the biotic and abiotic components of the natural system).


Introducing our Board of Directors

Brenda Martin


Brenda is the Manager, Communications for Interfor. Prior to this role she was Director of Communications for the Truck Loggers Association and Senior Communications Specialist for the Association of BC Forest Professionals (ABCFP). Prior to working for the ABCFP, Brenda worked for other non-profits in a communications role including Harvest Project and the National Deaf Children's Society. Brenda has served on the board since 2009.

Sandy McKellar

Past Chair

Sandy runs Tree Frog Creative Communications and publishes the Tree Frog Forestry News. She has worked in forest industry communications for over 20 years, including communications and recruitment for the UBC Faculty of Forestry,  Director of Communications for the Wood Manufacturing Council and the Truck Loggers Association. Sandy has forestry degree from UBC and is an honourary member of the Association of BC Forest Professionals. Sandy is an active volunteer in the area of forest education in BC.

Sandy has served on the board since 2003. 

Steve Baumber, RPF

Board Member

Steve is a registered professional forester and has worked in the forest sector for over 18 years. In addition to his time in the forest, he was hired to do forest education outreach on behalf of the UBC Faculty of Forestry and moved on to work in forest health and drinking water protection for the government of BC. Steve is a proud father of two young outdoorsy girls, and currently works for the Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations specializing in developing provincial policy to support sustainable forest management practices.


Steve has served on the board since 2003.

Ryan Dvorak

Board Member

Ryan Dvorak, a teacher at Alberni District Secondary School (ADSS), has carried on the 25 plus year tradition the forestry program. He has developed it to meet the needs of a new generation of students and a revitalized and professionalized forest industry. The goal is to ensure that the next generation of forest workers is being trained in the communities where they will be needed. 


Ryan has served on the board since 2013.

Russ Paton


Russ Paton has been involved in forestry camps since he was a youth. He started off as a camper at Evans Lake (Squamish). This led to becoming a Junior Forest Warden, and later, a camp counsellor. In the past 20 years, he has served as camp director and member of the board of directors at Evans Lake. He has participated in numerous FoF tours, including hosting a group at Evans Lake as part of the Sunshine Coast tour and assisting in organizing and attending a forest tour through Squamish. Today he manages the Silver Lake Forestry Centre.


Russ has served on the board since 2018.

Lisa Perrault, RFT

Board Member

Lisa a retired Coordinator, Strategic Projects at Western Forest Products in Campbell River where she worked since 1998.   She entered the forest sector in 1975, working for both government and industry during her career in projects related to mapping, environment, safety, First Nations, industry promotion, recruitment, training, timberlands standards and communications.  Lisa is a Registered Forest Technologist (RFT).


Lisa has served on the board since 2011.

Fred Robertson

Board Member

Fred has taught on Vancouver Island since 1989. He is retired full- time teacher who still works on-call. Fred worked on the  design of SD 85's Forestry Academy. He has been a member of the Vancouver Island North Woodlands Advisory Group since it started.  Fred and Eleanora, his wife, raised three boys in Port Hardy, and are actively involved in their community. Fred was recently elected to the District of Port Hardy Municipal Council. He holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Winnipeg and completed his teacher training and library education at the University of Victoria. He holds a Masters in Curriculum and Leadership from Gonzaga University.


Fred has served on the board since 2015.

Michel Vallee, RPF

Board Member

Michel is a university professor in the Forestry Department at the Vancouver Island University in Nanaimo. He hails originally from Quebec and has been working in the industry in Alberta and BC for more than 29 years. He graduated as a Forest Resources Technologist from Selkirk College and from the University of British Columbia with a degree in Forest Resource Management. He has had a varied career from working in provincial parks to operational forestry for both industry and government before joining VIU. In addition, he is experienced in wood product marketing as a full partner in a private forest products company that specialized in the Asian market providing timber development and custom cutting. He has brought his wide range of experience and perspective to VIU for the past 20 years teaching silviculture, soil science and forest policy.


Michel has served on the board since 2010.

Please reload

  • Facebook App Icon